The route runs from beyond Chiswick, along King Street upto the Hammersmith gyratory and on towards central London.

Full details of the plan can be found on the Transport for London site:

Dukes Avenue

2014 – Cross Rail For Bikes Plan

Full details of the plan can be found on the Transport for London site:

North South route summary

North-South route map

Visualisations of  the proposed infrastructure:


1) The 18-mile east–west route (which connects with existing cycle superhighways at Tower Hill and Westbourne Terrace) will be Europe’s longest ‘substantially segregated’ urban cycleway. (Picture: New Bridge Street, looking north up Farringdon Road)



2) The north–south route runs from King’s Cross to Elephant & Castle, crossing the Thames at Blackfriars Bridge, where it will also intersect with the east-west route. (Picture: Victoria Embankment at the RAF Memorial, looking south.)


Blackfriars-Jnct-high-res-(final-approved-03.07.14)3) There will also be protected routes through some of the city’s most notoriously dangerous junctions, including Tower Hill, Blackfriars and Lancaster Gate. (Picture: Victoria Embankment at Blackfriars Bridge, looking east.)


Tower-Hill-westbound-high-res-(final-approved-03.07.14)4) The main routes will connect with a series of ‘quietways’ in busy central London areas. These will likely include the West End, Paddington, Maida Vale and Notting Hill. (Picture: Tower Hill, looking west.)

Parliament-Square-high-res-(final-approved-08.07.14)5) The east–west route will pass over the Westway flyover, replacing one lane of vehicle traffic. (Picture: Parliament Square, looking east.)